Volcom's SPOT TO SPOT in AVORIAZ 2021

Shop the look

The early season snow storm that hit the French Alps brought smiles on everyone’s face for Volcom’s Spot To Spot in Avoriaz!

But the huge snow dump also caused delays and queues in the resort, and after the lifts finally opened the event was on with waist deep runs to join the Side Hits challenge!

 

With kickers and soft landings all along the side of the Combe à Floret run, and the slope being open to contestants only, it was two and a half hours of incredible laps with friends!

No starting order, Pro and Amateurs, Women and Men riding together, cheering on each other action.

 

Photos by @perly74 and @davidtchag

 

To recharge batteries, all participants enjoyed a free BBQ and soup cooked by the infamous Cuisine22, and some refreshments courtesy of Ocean52 water and Lagunitas beers, but unfortunately decision was made to cancel the rail jam at the snowpark in order to run the Pro feature in the village, as the insane snow called for it.

Shop the look

The horde of riders followed the mobile PA and local legend Nico Droz and gathered next to the Mélèze building where a gap/hip was built with a landing on a roof.

After a couple speed check on the tricky run in from event ambassador Arthur Longo and his buddies Sparrow Knox and Morgan Freemason, Arthur finally sent it and opened the show.

As the sun went down, everyone moved to the Electric Après snow at Changabang for more refreshments and the prize giving and the night ended with an impromptu Leopard Ale mini gig at Laury’s Bar in Morzine, celebrating the day and Olivier Gittler’s Bday (strictly following local Covid restrictions).

Huge congrats to the winners, huge thank you to the @avoriaz1800_officiel crew and @Avoriazsz who did an amazing job helping this one go down, and million thanks also to our partners @capitasupercorp @unionbindingco @electric_snow @actsnowboarding @methodmag @woodbrass @lagunitas_fr @_ocean52 @stayhideout

Shop the look

RESULTS

Amateur side hits - Men

1: Mikael De Rose

2 : Honorio Le Fur @honoriolefur

3 : Pierre Jacquemoud @stanyslass

Amateur side hits - Women

Winner: Sophie Raddison @raddison91

Runner up: Kim Martinez @kim.mrtz

Shop the look
Shop the look

Pro side hits – Men

Winner: Moritz Amssüs @moritz.ams 1000€

Runner ups: Simon Maxit @monsy_74 500€ & Arthur Longo @arthur_longo 500€

Hype of the day

Hugo Serrat @serra_hugo 500€

Shop the look
Shop the look

Pro side hits – Women

Winner: Maisie Hill @_maisiehill 1000€

Runner up: Tini Gruber @tinigruber 500€

Hip/ Pro feature

Winner: Arthur Longo @arthur_longo 1000€

Runner ups: Ulrik Badertscher @ulrikbadertscher 500€ & Simon Maxit @monsy_74 500€

Shop the look

Join Arthur Longo and the Volcom team to kickstart the season the best way possible: Chasing endless snowboarding challenges all over the resort the whole day, then jumping straight into a kick ass party with live music at night.

Free BBQ & refreshments, tons of prizes from Volcom, Capita, Union and Electric for Amateurs and a 6000€ prize purse in the Pro division.

SIGN UP EARLY! Registration is free but limited!

REGISTRATION CLOSES DECEMBER 9  (includes access to all challenges, event tee shirt, BBQ & drinks)

 

SCHEDULE (WEATHER PERMITTING):

9:00 CHECK IN - TSK ARARE (TOP OF TSD STADE)

9:30-10:30 SPEED CHECK CHALLENGE - SNOWPARK ARARE

11:00-13:00  SIDE HITS CHALEENGE - COMBE A FLORET

13:00 – 15:00 RAIL JAM CHALLENGE AND BBQ - SNOWPARK LA CHAPELLE

15:00 PRO FEATURE CHALLENGE - PRO ONLY - LES MELEZES

16:30 APRES SNOW & PRIZES- DJ FRED & BEERS - CHANGABANG

22:00 AFTER PARTY - LIVE BAND GUADAL TEJAZ & DJ SCOTT NIXON - LAURY'S PUB (MORZINE) - https://guadaltejaz.bandcamp.com/

Due to the new COVID-19 restrictions in France, the concert and after party are cancelled. We are very sorry.

 

Scroll down for more information about lift passes, accommodations and more !
HEALTH PASS MANDATORY TO ENTER THE EVENT – WE ADVISE YOU TO BUY LIFTPASSES ONLINE

Confirmed riders so far:

Arthur Longo | @arthur_longo

Torgeir Bergrem | @torgeirbergrem

Ludvig Billtoft | @ludvigbilltoft

Lea Baumschlager | @ lea_baumschlager

Kevin Backström | @backstromkevin

Sebbe de Buck | @sebbedebuck

Severin Van den Meer | @severinvandermeer

Ethan Morgan | @morgan_freemanson

Ulrik Badertscher | @ulrikbadertscher

Sparrow Knox | @sparrowknox

Tini Gruber | @tinigruber

Florian Corzelius | @flo_corzelius

Simon Pircher | @simonpircher

Olivier Gittler | @oliviergittler

Josito Aragon | @josito_aragon

Grant Giller | @ggillz

Nico Bondi | @nicobondi10

Roli Tschoder | @rolitschoder

Moritz Amsüss | @moritz.ams

Lorenz Vyslozil | @no_renz

Noah Vicktor | @noah_vicktor

Leon Gütl | @leone_guetala

Mehdi Soltane | @alpasdechiko

Baptiste Gaud | @balistogaud

Maisie Hill | @_maisiehill

Honorio Le Fur | @honoriolefur

Valérian Ducourtil | @valerianducourtil

Lenny Oliver | @stepbronyny

Photo : David Tchag @davidtchag

The event, curated by Arthur Longo, VolcomAvoriaz and Act snowboard magazine, will be held during the Rock On Snow tests days and features challenges celebrating the different facets of snowboarding:

Side Hits, Park, Street and even a speed run, with eventual updates. (Pending final snow conditions)
Finalized program to be revealed later.

Regardless of snowboarding level, everyone will be riding together all day like a large group of friends.

Follow the event live on @volcomsnow and @methodmag - #volcomspottospot

1 to 3-day Avoriaz skipasses valid between December 10 and 12, 2021 for the Rock on Snow event.
Prices: 1 day = 21 € / 2 days = 40 € / 3 days = 57 €.
To order, please visit skipass-avoriaz.com/en/offre/rock-on-snow

For accommodation deals in Morzine contact our partner Hideout hotels:
- 25% Code SPOT2SPOT

Follow @volcomsnow for your daily dose of snowboarding
 

Discover Arthur's new collection

She Crew Fleece - KHAKI

Regular price 75,00€ 52,50€

+ more colors

Di Fleece Hoodie - KHAKI

Regular price 65,00€ 45,50€

+ more colors

Arthur Trousers - KHAKI

Regular price 160,00€ 112,00€

+ more colors

Longo Gore-Tex Jacket - KHAKI

Regular price 350,00€ 245,00€

+ more colors

She Crew Fleece - BLACK

Regular price 75,00€ 52,50€

+ more colors

Arthur Trousers - BLACK

Regular price 160,00€ 112,00€ Sold Out

+ more colors

Longo Pullover Jacket - KHAKI

Regular price 220,00€ 154,00€

+ more colors

Longo Pullover Jacket - JADE

Regular price 220,00€ 154,00€

+ more colors